Sta. Cruz isle dev’t design contest winners known PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 30 July 2012 14:28

After a five long hours of evaluation, the panel of judges for the Great Sta. Cruz Island Beach Resort architectural design competition late Friday afternoon announced the winners and looked forward to the start of the island’s long-term development soon.

Mayor Celso Lobregat personally announced the names of the winners in both the professional and student categories before the enthusiastic crowd at the City Hall conference room past 6 pm Friday after the panel of jurors painstakingly and scrupulously went over the total 6 entries—3 of which from the professional architects’ category and 3 from the architecture students’ category.

The entry of Architect Manolo Tatel of the United Architect Association of the Philippines (UAP)-Zamboanga City chapter won the approval of most if not all of the judges and garnered the first prize of P100, 000 in the professional category. Adjudged second placer was the entry of Efren Jay Tangcalagan of UAP Zamboanga City Chapter with Harold P. Generoso as member with a cash prize of P60,000 and third placer was the entry of Arch. Noelito B. del Rosario of UAP, ZC Chapter with Rey O. Cruz as member with P40,000 cash prize.

In the architecture students’ category, the team of May Christine M. Tolomia (team leader) with members Jo Rena Otadoy Inding, Jude Carl Magsayo Arceo, Ernan Sunkip Natividad, Yasser Padilla Anduol and Luke Donald Garcia Cadelina garnered the first prize of P50,000; second placer was the team of Sharif F. Morales with Remlito Tuble de Maria as member with a cash prize of P30,000 while the team of Mark Errol Bosque (team leader) with Herolene L. Julian, Ralph P. Saavedra and Keila C. Macahis as members garnered the third place with a cash prize of P20,000.

Following the contest guidelines, all entries consisted of an administration building, a pontoon, picnic huts, comfort rooms and viewing decks, and a water desalination facility—all carefully designed to complement with the eco-tourism potentials of the island, without destroying its natural habitats.

Criteria for judging and evaluation were Intent- 20%, Function- 20%, Design Excellence- 40% and Financial Proposal- 20% for a total of 100%.

Awarding of the cash prizes to the winners will be done on Wednesday afternoon at the City Hall conference room.

Mayor Lobregat said the panel of judges had a hard time evaluating the entries stressing that the entries presented different yet unique architectural designs and site development plans to make the Great Sta. Cruz Island a perfect eco-tourism attraction for Zamboanga City.

Member of the panel of judges are City Administrator Antonio G. Orendain Jr., Tourism Regional Director Mary June Bugante, Engr. Reynaldo Gonzales, City Agriculturist Diosdado Palacat, City Engineer Luis Vicente Despalo, Engr. Antonio Sta. Elena, Arch. Domingo A. Abarro III, Dr. Rosalio D. Tenorio, Arch. Shiralee R. Pajarito, Arch. Rodel Falcasantos, Arch. Rommel Reyes and Assistant City Administrator Elmeir Apolinario, who heads the secretariat.

With the conclusion of the architectural design competition, the City Government will utilize the winning entries in the development of the Great and Little Sta. Cruz Islands which have been formally turned over to the city by the Tourism Investment and Economic Zone Authority (TIEZA) formerly the Philippine Tourism Authority (PTA). — Sheila Covarrubias