DOTC bids out more upgrading projects for Tawi-Tawi airport PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 05 August 2012 15:00

The second phase of the upgrading of Sanga-Sanga airport is set to take off soon after the Department of Transportation and Communication (DOTC) gave the green light for bidding of the P29 million rehabilitation project of the only airport in Tawi-Tawi.

DOTC Secretary Mar Roxas said the upgrading of Sanga-Sanga was mentioned by President Benigno C. Aquino III in his State of the Nation Address (SONA) last July 24.

”It’s our government commitment to provide convenient, affordable, reliable, efficient and safe transport service,” Aquino said.

Roxas said improvements on the airport will sustain investment opportunities, such as tourism and acquaculture.

The airport improvements include construction of 5,100 square meter vehicular parking area (VPA) and construction of drainage system and perimeter and security fences.

The DOTC earlier announced a bidding for the site development and construction of new passenger terminal building and expansion of apron.

Actually, President Aquino announced in his SONA the upgrading of not only Tawi-tawi airport but airports of Butuan, Cotabato, Dipolog, Pagadian, Maasin in Southern Leyte and San Vicente in Palawan, Roxas said.

He said that the DOTC has already bidded out the P72.4 million rehabilitation project for San Vicente Airport that includes completion of runway extension, concrete paving of runway, construction of VPA, hill obstruction removal, fences, gates and drainage system.

The President said the DOTC will also upgrade the international airports in Mactan, Puerto Princesa and Tacloban, Roxas said.

President Aquino also announced the government’s plan to upgrade the Caticlan airport by widening its runway to attract more tourists to visit the world’s famous Boracay Island, he added.

According to Roxas, President Aquino intends to build New Bohol Airport in Panglao, New Legaspi Airport in Daraga and Laguindingan Airport in Misamis Oriental before the end of his term in 2016.