PATVS elects new officers PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 25 August 2012 14:04

The Philippine Association of Technical-Vocational Schools (PATVS) in Western  Mindanao has elected its new sets of officers, with Dr. Salihmatal Lagbas as the association president during the meeting held recently in Pagadian City.

The PATVS, composed of over 40 public secondary schools in Regional-IX was officially organized with the objective to strengthen the operation an implementation of the K2-12 programs of the Technical-Vocational high schools under DepEd Order 31 series of 2012.

The election of PAVTS pioneer officers was held as an offshoot of the 3-day Orientation of Operations for the Tech-Voc held last August 15-17, 2012 at the Hotel Guillermo in Pagadian City.

In attendance were mostly principals, heads of schools and statisticians, programs coordinators coming from the different schools.

Discussed during the conference included the possible tie-up initiatives with some Tech –Voc offering of subjects that would facilitate livelihood programs for the students under the K to 12 programs.

This year K to 12 curriculums of DepEd considered a flagship program of the administration is aimed to generate early livelihood and employment for the senior high school students.

DepEd Chief for Secondary Education Division for Region-IX, Dr. Jaliha A. Sangkula  was the guest of honor and speaker who stressed to the attendees the need to fully implement the programs to attain the  high quality education standard of Voc-Tech in line with   national policy of  President Benigno Aquino III in addressing the problem of unemployment and improve the economy of the country.

“We must ensure high quality education standard,” Sangkula reminded the participants. “ Live and lead in harmony for the students to uplift economy thru  livelihood-oriented education,” Sankula stressed.

Elected were  Dr.  Lagbas  (Southcom National High School) as President; Vice Pres. Dr. Eleazar S. Pastor (Salug National High School,ZN); Secretary, Dr. Gerardo R. Montilla, Jr. (Sergio Osmena NHS,ZN); Treasurer — Dr. Linda  M. Saniel (Molave Voc-Tech School,ZdS); Mr. Edilberto O. Vega (Tukuran Vocational High School) and Mr. Henry A. Ongchua (Zamboanga City High School-West); Public Information Officers one from each schools division are the ff; Mrs. Annabella O. Espinosa (Labuan National High School,ZC), Mrs. Nimfa T. Caermare (Kipit Agro Fisheries); Mr. Eddie K. Villaflores (Kabasalan NHS, ZS); Mr. Valeriano M. Barte (C0-Tech-Chun National High School); Mr. Ernesto N. Tando (Rebokon AVHS, ZdS); Mrs.  Esperalda A. Bagaipo (Sulangon NHS,Dapitan City); and Mr. Bartolome H. Magtortor (AQUAMATS, Dipolog City); Business Managers are Dr. Amer E. Tandong (Malangas NHS) and Dr. Feliza Munar (ZCHS-Main); Elected Muses are  Mrs. Janet V. Mohammad, Ms. Michelle O Suico and Ms. Ronalyn Lavilla: Princes-Mr. Rolando F. Chavez, Mr. Larry M. Marquez and Mr. Celedonio S. Danda, , while Mr. Aurelio S. Santisas  of the Regional Voc-Tech coordinator and Mrs. Glyn V. Sayson as Advisers: Consultant is Dr. Jaliha A. Sangkula, Chief, Secondary Education Division, DepEd-9.

Meanwhile, Lagbas challenged implementers of the program in attendance to put into action through a slogan, “Halina, Tulong tayo sa kapakanan ng mga kabataan na walang iwanan tungo sa kabuhayan.”

Lagbas said a regular meeting will be called to ensure that Tech-Voc programs would be fully implenented in  order to attain the goals and objectives of DepEd. — BFC