City bares drum, lyre tilt guidelines PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 08 September 2012 14:31

The city government announced yesterday the guidelines for the drum and lyre competition that will be held in line with the Tourism Week Celebration in Zamboanga City from September 21-27, this year.

The competition, which has been scheduled for Sept. 27 at 4 p.m. at Paseo del Mar, is open to all elementary schools in the city with a minimum of 60 and a maximum of 65 members, including the baton and flag bearers.

However, only the first 10 drum and lyre corps to register will be accepted, and each is only allowed with five coordinators. Interested participants are required to submit to the City Tourism Office the drum and lyre corps members duly certified by their respective school principals and coordinators.

Under the guidelines, in case the list of members will be found to be erroneous, the same will be disqualified from the competition.

Each group will have six minutes to perform and the time will start and end at the first and last strike of any musical instrument. After each presentation, the group will have one minute to clear the exhibition area.

No banners or any markings identifying the participating school will be allowed, and that all performing drum and lyre corps must play the Chabacano song “No Te Vayas a Zamboanga” and choice of any other song.

The participants are also prohibited to bring musical instruments other than those carried by the students, and that only the batons and flaglets are allowed as props.

Deadline for submission of entries will be on Monday, September 17 at 2 p.m., during which lots will be drawn to determine the order of performance.

Participants will be judged according to: Music ensemble (25%), how well the corps play as a whole; Music individual (25%), how well they play as members of the corps; Choreography and Marching Skills 30%, and Overall impact and uniform 20%.

The first prize winner will receive P25,000 cash and trophy, second prize P20,000 cash and third prize P15,000. A special prize of P5,000 cash will be given to the Best Trainer. Non-winners will receive P7,500 each as consolation prize. – Vic Larato