Regatta draws huge crowd; Sinunuc fisher retains title PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 08 October 2012 14:16

As in the previous years, the sail boat race dubbed as Regatta de Zamboanga on R.T. Lim Boulevard yesterday morning was a success with thousands of people from all walks of life witnessed the competition amid the scorching sun and moderate winds.

Mayor Celso Lobregat, who helped facilitate the competition, said Regatta is one of the main crowd-drawing events during Fiesta Hermosa Festival in celebration of the Fiesta Pilar. “This is one event where local residents and visitors eagerly anticipate during this time of the year,” he said.

At least 125 vintas adorned with colorful sails joined the race in 13 hits and the winners of the 13 hits competed for the championship round, which was a very close fight between the yellow sail boat (No. 2) from Sinunuc and white sail boat (No. 44) from Mariki.

The crowd was sent to thrill and burst to cheers when the two boats struggled to advance and tried to overtake each other, but in the end the yellow boat raced to the finishing line less than a meter ahead of the white boat.

“Maga vecinos, ya gana el yellow (boat). Claro ya maga vecinos, maskin aki na sail boat race ganao el yellow team,” blurted the emcee as if the competition were a political race with yellow signifying the Liberal Party of mayoralty aspirant Rep. Beng Climaco-Salazar who also assisted Lobregat in the awarding of prizes to the winners.

Sail boat No. 2 (yellow) maneuvered by Amil Hamja of Sinunuc bagged the first prize of P10,000 cash from the city government plus Honda engine courtesy of Safety Enterprises. Hamja was also last year’s winner.

The white sail boat (No. 44) from Mariki land second place with P7,000 cash followed by sail boat No. 93 at third place with P5,000 cash, sail boat No. 28 at 4th place with P3,000 cash and sail boat No. 51 at 5th place with P2,000 cash. All the 120 other competitors received P1,000 consolation prize each.

Also present were Vice Mayor Cesar Iturralde together with Councilors Nonong Guingona, Myra Paz Valderrosa-Abubakar, Mike Alavar, Gerky Valesco, Percival Ramos, Lilia Nuno, Eddie Saavedra, City Administrator Antonio Orendain Jr., council aspirants Kit Barredo, BG Guingona, Elong Natividad, Art Onrubia and Violy Alejandro. — Vic Larato