TAYO marks 10th year of recognizing youth dynamism PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 01 December 2012 14:59

The number 10 is extra special this year.

Not only is it the 10th year of the search for the Ten Accomplished Youth Organizations (TAYO), but10 more organizations will also be named this year’s TAYO awardees.

“This year, being our 10th, we are definitely eager to meet the organizations that will make up the first 100 TAYO awardees who continue to come up with fresh and unique approaches in responding to problems.Through TAYO, we continuously witness a new kind of people power for a new generation of Filipinos—one wherein the youth embrace opportunities to become their own catalyst for a better life,” said TAYO Awards Foundation President and 2012 Ten Outstanding Young Persons of the World (TOYP) awardee, Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV.

Twenty groups from the areas of Luzon, Visayas, Mindanao and the National Capital Region will vie for a spot in the top 10 during the TAYO National Finals Week on December 2 to 6, 2012.“We are once again excited to get to know another batch of young Filipinos who possess infectious enthusiasm and indefatigable energy in facing the issues and providing solutions to the problems in their schools and local communities.  Talagang hindi nakakasawa ang kanilang mga kwento,” Commissioner Georgina Nava of the TAYO 10 National Organizing Committee added.

Advancing to the National Finals from Luzon are: Angat Kabataan from Rizal Development Communication Society - Benguet State University,  CBA – Kalipunan and Marketing Junior Executives of the University of the Cordilleras, Ramon Magsaysay Technological University - Electrical Engineering Society and the University of Luzon Students in Free Enterprise.

Visayas finalists include: the Cebuano Youth Ambassadors, English Society of Aklan State University, Hayag Youth Organization, Inc. from Ormoc, Leyte, Community Extension Service Society of the John B. Lacson Foundation Maritime University in  Iloilo City, - and Philippine Institute of Civil Engineers-Student Chapter of West Negros University.

The Dire Husi Initiatives, Inc. of Cagayan De Oro City, I CAN Make A Difference, Inc. from Zamboanga City, Monte-Verde 4H Club of Zamboanga City, Students in Free Enterprise of Sultan Kudarat State University ACCESS Campus and Tingug-Cagayan De Oro will be representing Mindanao in the finals.

Finalists from the National capital Region consist of: Kythe Ateneo, La Salle Debate Society, Mu Sigma Phi Sorority, One Million Lights Philippines and  Phi Kappa Mu Fraternity.

The representatives of all 20 organizations will be participating in the day-to-day activities during the National Finals Week, which include: team-building and coaching sessions on December 2 and media rounds on December 4.Previous TAYO partners and awardees will also be coming in for the thanksgiving and reunion activity to be held in Manila.

Co-presented by Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines, TAYO Year 10 is organized by the TAYO Awards Foundation, Office of Senator Kiko Pangilinan and the National Youth Commission.  It is supported by the Philippine Council of Young Leaders in Governance (PCYLG) and sponsored by Cebu Pacific, Jollibee, SMART, Cemex, Lenovo and the Philippine Amusement and Gaming Corporation (PAGCOR).