Celso thanks LBC for Ronda Pilipinas in Zamboanga City PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 13 January 2013 14:53

Citing the benefits that can be amassed for hosting Ronda Pilipinas 2013, Mayor Celso Lobregat has expressed immense gratitude to LBC Express, Inc. for choosing Zamboanga City as the kick off point for the 21-day national cycling event that started Saturday, January 12 at Paseo del Mar.

Lobregat did the official waving of the chequered flag to mark the start of the race exactly 9am yesterday taking to the roads of Mindanao, Visayas and Luzon 96 of the country’s toughest and hardest-charging cyclists.

“I thank LBC Express, Inc. together with Total Philippines Corporation and MVP Sports Foundation for choosing Zamboanga City as the kickoff point of the biggest cycling race in the country. I likewise thank all the participating teams for coming to Zamboanga”, Lobregat declared.

he LBC, which organizes the event for the third year now, brought in a 400-strong entourage of Ronda Pilipinas coming from all over the country that included LBC officials and personnel as well as Ronda Pilipinas staff and crew as well as participants. The visitors arrived January 10 in time for the fun ride and presentation of teams
Friday, Jan. 11 and finally, the big day, yesterday, January 12.

Lobregat said the national event will definitely put Zamboanga City in the cycling map and that the visitors could very well be the city’s ambassadors of goodwill and tourism. “With your visit here, you can help us bring out the good, the positive, the best and the beautiful of Zamboanga”.

The race covers 2,200 kilometers of 32 cities and towns in Mindanao, Luzon and Visayas starting at Paseo del Mar at 9am today ending in Baguio City on February 1.

From Paseo del Mar, the cyclists will tour all the way to Ipil passing through the Maria Clara Lobregat highway and on to Cagayan de Oro City, Davao City, Cebu City and then to Luzon with Baguio City as the culminating point.

Almost P8 million in cash prizes await the winners for both individual and team competitions.

The 96 cyclists are divided into 12 teams that include Team Mindanao, Team Cebu, Team Metro Manila, Team Ilocos Sur, Team Hundred Islands-Pangasinan, PLDT Spider Team, V-Mobile Smart Team, Philippine Navy Standard Insurance Team, LPGMA Team and the Road Bike Philippine Team, the defending champion.

Local biking teams also took part in the Ronda Pilipinas fun ride Friday afternoon such as the Zamboanga Fitness Cycling Organization, Bikers 101, WMSU Bikers’ Association, Marines Bikers’ Association, Grupo de Ceclistas Zamboangueño, Montero Bikers, Blue Boyz bikers and Team Bikestop.

The fun ride was purposely to draw attention to the nationwide cycling race. It was capped by the presentation of the participating teams in both the fun ride and the Ronda Pilipinas race and the fountain show at the Paseo del Mar. — Sheila Covarrubias