Top cops award night tomorrow at Lotus Resto PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 23 February 2013 11:11

The Police Watch Zamboanga (PWZ) will award 10 policemen who were picked as “outstanding cops” for the year 2012 in a simple program tomorrow at the Grand Astoria Hotel’s Lotus Restaurant.

Veteran broadcaster Arsenio “Rawhide” Nuevo, PWZ representative, named the awardees as Sr. Supt. Edwin De Ocampo, City Police Director; Supt. William Gadayan, company commander of the Zamboanga City Public Safety Company; Chief Insp. Elmer Acuña, chief of the Tetuan Police Station; Sr. Insp. Arlan Delumpines, chief of the City Police Office’s Investigation Section; Sr. Insp. Mohammar Mariwa; SPO4 Nelson Enad; SPO1 Jason Natividad; PO2 Noel Falcasantos; PO1 Val Agustini Santua and PO1 Sarahan Indanan.

Aside from the 10 outstanding policemen, 14 nominee-cops will also receive certificate of recognition and they are: Sr. Insp. Elmer Solon, chief of the Intelligence Section and City Anti-illegal drugs Special Operation Task Force; Sr. Insp. Arturo Alejandro, chief of the Sinunuc Police Station; SPO4 Munib Abubakar; SPO4 Pilardo Castillo; SPO4 Ricardo Ramos; PO3 Shirley Bullecer; PO3 Siharta Bejerano; PO3 Joseph Cuenco; PO3 Antonio Madarimot; PO3 Jose Rene Serra; PO3 Derek Angelada and PO2 Alberto Cuadra.

Ten members of the City Hall’s Traffic Enforcer group will also receive certificate of recognition for a job well done in the streets. They are Richard Lim; Ernesto Ramos; Jesus Limen; Edwin Marcial; Rodolfo Siason; Roderico Venus; Rodelio Dulap; Roland Bantoto; William Bauley and Arthemist Atega.

This award, which is on its 8th year, is intended to give recognition policemen who have good performance and to encourage and inspire other policemen to also perform well in their duties and responsibilities as law enforcers.

The 10 outstanding cops as well the nominees were chosen by PWD members who come from all walks of life.

Thorough evaluations and selections were made following the recommendation of the public.

The PWZ’s awarding program is being supported by the Astoria Group of companies — Grand Astoria Hotel, Astoria Regency, Astoria Plaza, Astoria Printing and Publishing, Daily Zamboanga Times and Zambonaga Today and 2nd District Congressman Erbie A. Fabian.

Meanwhile, the Tetuan Police Station (PS-6) was unnanimously chosen as the “Police Station of the Year” for the year 2012. — Dan Toribio Jr.