City gets P17.5M fire truck from BFP PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 04 March 2013 11:18

Mayor Celso Lobregat Wednesday last week received for and in behalf of the city and the City Fire District a fire truck worth P17.5M from the National Bureau of Fire Protection in ceremonial turnover rites held in Camp Crame in Manila with DILG Sec. Mar Roxas as guest of honor.

Assisting the mayor were City Fire Marshall F/Supt. Dominador Zabala and other Bureau of Fire officials from the regional office.

Zamboanga is one of the 38 cities that received a new Rosenhabauer TLF 400 fire truck each, assigned by the DILG to help improve fire response services.

The Rosenbauer fire truck is a 1,000-gallon water pumper fire truck. Mounted on its chassis is a 240 HP water-cooled main engine linked to water pump via power-take-off.

The truck is a 4-door truck with 7 passenger-seating capacity. It has a capacity to discharge 2,400 liters of water per minute and has a strong water cannon that can push water to up to 62 meters horizontally and 24 meters vertically which is equivalent to an eight-storey building.

The 38 fire trucks distributed by the BFP-Manila were part of the 76 fire trucks that the BFP is acquiring this year. The trucks were purchased through a P1.1Billion loan granted by the Republic of Austria under its Official Development Assistance (ODA) and through the Unicredit bank of Austria AG.  The loan is payable in 17 and a half years inclusive of 3 and a half years grace period with an interest rate of 1% per year.

Mayor Lobregat expressed gratitude that Zamboanga is one of the only 38 cities chosen to get one of the new fire trucks citing its significance to the capability of the local Fire District.

Other recipients included the cities of Quezon, Manila, Caloocan, Malabon, Parañaque, Pasay, Pasig, San Juan, Mandaluyong, Las Piñas Taguig, Antipolo, Baguio, Batangas, Calamba, Angeles, San Jose del Monte, Tanauan, Meycauayan, Lipa, Mandaue, Bacolod, Cebu, Ilo-ilo, Talisay, Bayawan, Lapu-lapu, Tanjay, Baybay, Davao, Pagadian, Dapitan, Cotabato, Digos, Tagum, Kidapawan and General Santos. — Sheila Covarrubias