Committee formed for eco-tourism dev’t PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 23 January 2011 15:05

With strong determination to make Zamboanga City one of the finest eco-tourist destinations in the country, City Hall has put more attention to eco-tourism development by creating the  Committee on Eco-tourism through Executive Order No. CL- 382-2010.
The committee is composed of multi-sectoral groups and is focused on coming up with eco-tourism development plans of the city.
The creation of the committee was a result of a meeting held on December 15, 2010, where Mayor Celso Lobregat convened a multi-sectoral conference at the City Hall to discuss eco-tourism promotion in the city.
In the said meeting, six possible eco-tourism sites were preliminarily identified and considered for further assessment and evaluation for possible eco-tourism development. These are Merloquet Waterfalls in Barangay Sibulao; Dulian Waterfalls in Barangay Dulian-Bunguiao; Busay Waterfalls in Barangay San Roque; Nancy Falls in Barangay La Paz, Salaan Cave in Barangay Salaan and Manicahan Cave in Barangay Manicahan.

The above sites are the priority eco-tourism areas that will be developed by the city government.

This is where the Committee on Eco tourism comes in by taking alead in the conduct of orientation seminars, assessment evaluation and project monitoring, all geared towards eco-tourism development and promotion.

The Committee will assess and evaluate eco-tourism potentials of the above mentioned possible tourism sites located in the said six barangays. It will also formulate and recommend for approval to the mayor the site-specific eco-tourism development programs and policies of the priority sites.

One major responsibility of the committee is the identification of other possible eco-tourism sites in the city which may be subject to future development. The conduct of ecological studies and/or environmental assessment on the impact of eco-tourism also forms part of the committee’s duties and responsibilities.

The Committee will also monitor the development and implementation of eco-tourism projects   and will drum beat the conduct of community/sector-based information dissemination, seminars trainings among others.

Mayor Lobregat in the executive order emphasized the duty of the committee “to prepare and submit periodic report on the status of the assessment, evaluation and program implementation for information, monitoring and policy development purposes.”

The Committee on Eco-tourism is composed of City Council representatives; Executive Departments of the City Government; National Government Agencies (PIA, DOT, DENR); Tri-media; Zamboanga Adventure Tourism and Eco-Recreation Society (ZATERS); and the Punong Barangays.

Lobregat sits as the Chairman of the said committee with City Tourism Officer Sarita Hernandez as Executive Officer. — JP Alvarez –PIA 9