Comelec reclusters precincts with low no. of voters in 44 provinces PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 May 2013 14:15

The Commission on Elections has re-clustered precincts with a low number of voters in at least 44 provinces to maximize the poll body’s resources.

“We are talking of re-clustering less than a hundred voters. General rule is maximum of seven precincts [can be grouped together] not exceeding 1,000 voters,” poll chairman Sixto Brillantes Jr. told reporters Thursday.

The re-clustering started as early as January when the Comelec issued Resolution No. 9624, which was released to the media Thursday.

The affected provinces were Abra, Agusan del Norte, Agusan del Sur, Aklan, Antique, Apayao, Basilan, Benguet, Bohol, Bukidnon, Cagayan, Camarines Sur, Capiz, Catanduanes, Cebu, Davao del Sur, Eastern Samar, Ifugao, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Iloilo, Isabela, Laguna, Lanao del Sur, Leyte, Maguindanao, Marinduque, Misamis Occidental, Misamis Oriental, Northern Samar, Occidental Mindoro, Palawan, Quezon, Quirino, Rizal, Romblon, Samar (Western Samar), Siquijor, Southern Leyte, Sultan Kudarat, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi, Zamboanga del Norte, and Zamboanga del Sur.

In the case of Datu Salibo in Maguindanao, barangays Alonganan, Buayan, Damabalas, Duaminanga, Liong, Magaslong and Masigay recorded extremely small number of registered voters after cleansing the list of double/multiple registrants.

The total number of voters in the said barangays was 302.

Because of this, the barangays were merged with the precincts of barangays Andavit, Pandi and Tee.

The resolution ordered the election officers to give written notice of the change in the location of voting centers to the affected registered voters and authorized representatives of political parties.