Beng, Itu, Celso, Lilia, 13 council bets proclaimed PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 16 May 2013 11:21

The City Board of Canvassers (CBOC) on Tuesday evening proclaimed the winning candidates in the May 13 election with Maria Isabelle “Beng” Climaco-Salazar as the newly elected mayor of Zamboanga City and congressman-elect Celso Lobregat in the first district and Lilia M. Nuno in second district.

Climaco-Salazar garnered 172, 439 (so far the highest number of votes gotten by a mayoralty aspirant in the history of Zamboanga) as against former party mate District 2 Congressman Erbie Fabian’s 29, 923 votes.

In the first district, last-term Mayor Celso Lobregat won by at least 10,484 votes (42, 826-32, 342) against his close rival Crisanto “Monsi”  dela Cruz while Nuño won against Mayor Lobregat younger brother Jomar with 5563 votes difference. Nuno got 33, 475 votes, 27, 912 for Jomar and only 25, 242 for former vice mayor Mannix Dalipe.

Also Tuesday evening, the CBOC, composed of City Prosecutor Ricardo Cabaron, Division School Superintendent Pedro Melchor Natividad and the two local election officers Joseph Ian Tria and Alvin Lim proclaimed the re-elected Vice Mayor Cesar Ituralde with 100, 430 votes as against former councilor Luis Climaco with only 66, 789 votes.

Meanwhile, the top eight councilors in District 2 were also proclaimed as official winners as they earned the satisfactory votes in last Monday poll.

Former councilor and now making his comeback in the City Council Roel “Elong” Natividad ranks number one with 53, 968 votes followed by Benjamin “BG” Guingona (2) with 49, 696 votes, (3) Miguel Alavar (43, 955), Eddie Saavedra (42, 792), Kim Elago (42, 653), Percival Ramos (38, 494), Rommel Agan (37, 514) and number 8 is Vincent Paul Elago with 36, 213 votes.

In the first district, as of press time, only the top five councilors-elect were proclaimed while the three others are still waiting for the official transmittal of the remaining three CF Cards coming from Barangay Canelar, Talisayan and Cabatangan.

Proclaimed were re-elected councilors Melchor Rey K. Sadain with 55, 984 votes, Rogelio Valesco (53, 979), Cesar “Jawo” Jimenez (52, 873), newly elected Charlie Mariano (51, 277), and incumbent councilor now in his last term Luis “Noning” Biel (49, 798).

The supposed proclamation of the three others — Josephine Pareja who garnered 47, 798 votes, Myra Paz Abubakar (46, 691) and incumbent councilor Rodolfo Bayot (45, 691) was held in abeyance due to the more than 2, 000 votes registered in the un-transmitted CF cards which have not been canvassed yet.

Besides, CBOC decided not to proceed with the proclamation of the three remaining candidates due to the slim difference of votes between the number 8 (Bayot) and number 9 (incumbent Councilor Jaime Cabato ) who reaped 45, 564 votes—a difference of 127 votes. They both belong to the same political party—UNA. — Jimmy Villaflores