Soriano 15-yr reign in Siocon ends; Lobrigas is new mayor PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 18 May 2013 11:28

Ceasar Soriano, the longest serving mayor of Siocon, Zamboanga del Norte, was defeated by businessman Julius Lobrigas in the May 13 elections.

Lobrigas, who ran under Team Pnoy’s Liberal Party, trounced Soriano of the Nacionalista Party by 1,030 votes.

It was a sweet victory for Lobrigas because in the 2010 elections, he lost to Soriano.

Soriano was first elected as Siocon mayor in 1998 and was reelected twice in 2004 and 2007. Then he fielded his wife Perliza in the 2007 mayoralty race, and ran for vice mayor. Both of them won in that elections. Soriano made a comeback in 2010 and defeated Lobrigas in the mayoralty race.

Perliza Soriano also lost in the vice mayoralty race  against Lobrigas’ running mate Nathaniel Usin, who is an incumbent Sangguniang Bayan member in that town.

Soriano was a television reporter of the ABS-CBN before he joined politics in Siocon, Zamboanga del Norte.

Information reaching DZT disclosed that many of the Siocon population are happy to have a new mayor after 15 years under Soriano’s reign.

Meanwhile, the candidates of Nationalist People’s Coalition’s (NPC) “Team Cerilles” has made a sweep of all elective provincial positions in Zamboanga del Sur in the May 13 elections.

The Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOC) proclaimed on Thursday re-electionist Governor Antonio Cerilles, who garnered 257,131 votes and was unopposed.

Cerilles ran unopposed when the Commission on Elections (Comelec) disqualified former Dapitan City Mayor Dominador Jalosjos Jr. of the Liberal Party (LP) after the Supreme Court affirmed the latter’s conviction on a 1970 robbery case in Cebu.

Cerilles’ running-mate, re-electionist Vice-Gov. Juan Regala, was also proclaimed as he beat former Vice-Gov. Roy Ariosa of LP by a margin of 40,664 votes.

Regala, who received fresh mandate for a second term of office, reaped 219,564 votes as against Ariosa’s 178,900.

Provincial Election Supervisor Atty. Dinah Sapong, who chairs the PBOC, has also proclaimed the winning candidates in the first and second congressional districts and 10 provincial board members.

Proclaimed winner in the first congressional district is incumbent Congressman Victor Yu, who won by a margin of 51,908 votes over Samuel Co of LP.

Yu garnered 150,154 votes while Co only got 98,246 votes, Sapong said.

Re-electionist second district Congresswoman Aurora Cerilles was proclaimed after she dominated her rival, Marjorie Jalosjos of Nacionalista Party (NP) by a margin of 43,536 votes.

Cerilles garnered a total of 104,827 votes while Jalosjos lagged behind with 61,291 votes.

Proclaimed board members in District I were Joy Pajares, 127,858; Ramon Blancia Jr., 127,297; Jesus Bajamunde Jr., 125,469; Pepito Degamo, 118,437; and Eddie Relacion, 107,940.

In District II, proclaimed were Edward Pintac, 94,861; Miguelito Ocapan, 92,665; Felicidad Funtanilla, 89,522; Eddie Adlaon, 87,186; and Vicente Cajeta, 86,466 votes.