Beng, other House leaders recognized PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 14 June 2013 11:09

Deputy House Speaker Beng Climaco and other officials of the 15th Congress were recognized and honored in fitting ceremonies dubbed “Pagpupugay sa mga Kinatawan ng Ika-15 Kongreso” held a day prior to the last session of the Lower House, June 5.

Remarkable work in legislation and worthy service and contributions to the country were the main reasons for the tribute, organized by officials and employees of the House of Representatives Secretariat led by Secretary General Marilyn Barua-Yap.

The occasion was held a day prior to the formal Sine Die, the last session in the Lower House.

“My work in Congress had been one of the most fruitful journeys I have embarked in, in so far as my stint as public servant is concerned. The laws we have contributed for the country are our legacies aimed at helping many of our people improve their quality of life,” the solon, who is assuming as elected Mayor of the City at noon of June 30.

Climaco served two terms in Congress and had been named Deputy Speaker. As such, she has been presiding session with over 200 congressmen all over the Philippines.

The mayor-elect has passed 8 national laws, one of them is the Magna Carta of Women. Most recent also is the law on the Philippine Standard Time and the Observance of the Harmony Week, passed towards the end of her term in congress.

“We bloom where we are placed. We all diligently study and work in the tasks we are given for our constituents, so that the representation they have mandated us shall never go in vain. We owe this to the people we represent,” Climaco declared.

A fully-packed House applauded as 1st-term, 2nd-term and 3rd-term Members received their Plaques of Recognition, a copy each of the 15th Congress Yearbook, a disc file of Legislative Documents that included a Laws and Resolutions publication, the Journal and Congressional Record, and a collection of Speeches made in the 15th Congress, entitled “In the name of the People.” Each 3rd term congressman also received a Legislative Performance Record and a Congressional Three-Term Medal.

Other House leaders honoured were former Minority Leader Edcel C. Lagman, Deputy Speaker Raul A. Daza, Deputy Speaker Lorenzo R. Tañada III, Rep. Gwendolyn Garcia who represented her father Deputy Speaker Pablo Garcia, Speaker Belmonte, Jr., Deputy Speaker Jesus Crispin C. Remulla, Deputy Speaker Arnulfo Fuentebella, Deputy Speaker Maria Isabelle G. Climaco, Majority Leader Neptali M. Gonzales II, and Minority Leader Danilo E. Suarez. — Alexandra Blanca