Elected local officials urged to follow Local Government Code PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 07 July 2013 14:25

DIPOLOG CITY — A Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG)-9 official reminded all elected officials of their responsibility to their constituents and make RA 7160 as their “Bible” in the performance of their duties and responsibilities to the people who supported them last election.

DILG-9Director Paisal Abutazil said elected officials should perform their responsibilities as mandated Republic Act 7160, otherwise known as the Local Government Code of 1991.

Abutazil maded this reminder in his welcome message during the joint oath-taking ceremonies of Municipal, City, Provincial and Congressional Officials of Zamboanga del Norte at the Dipolog City Sports Complex, Olingan this City on Saturday, lastweek.

“As elected local officials, you have a 24-hour commitment to respond to the people’s needs and to serve them with utmost commitment and dedication towards a clean and transparent governance,” he said.

All municipal councilors took their oath before Regional Trial Court (RTC) branch 9 Presiding Judge Victoriano Lacaya while all municipal mayors and vice mayors before RTC branch 7 Presiding Judge Rogelio Lacquihon.

Dipolog City councilors were also sworn in by Judge Lacaya, Dipolog City Vice Mayor Horacio Velasco by Judge Laquihon and Dipolog City Mayor Evelyn Uy by Judge Lacaya.

Governor Roberto Uy, third district representative Isagani S. Amatong and board members of the three congressional districts took their oath before Judge Laquihon. Vice-Governor Senen Angeles was sworn in by Judge Lacaya.

The joint oath-taking ceremonies of the local elective officials in Zamboanga del Norte under the Liberal Party were witnessed by their families and friends, as well as thousands of their supporters throughout the province.