Beng elected LCP national treasurer PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 23 July 2013 13:25

Mayor Beng Climaco was elected national treasurer of the League of Cities of the Philippines (LCP) during the organization’s 60th General Assembly held in Manila, Friday.

Climaco expressed gratitude to her colleagues for placing their trust and confidence on her to occupy the post as LCP treasurer, a key position in the mandated organization of Philippine cities.

Being a first termer, Mayor Climaco said it is important that the City of Zamboanga will have active representation in the LCP, which   can assist and empower mayors.

The LCP is committed to bringing local urban governance agenda at the forefront of the country’s development strategies.

Elected LCP president during the 60th General Assembly, held at the Crowne Plaza Manila Galleria in Quezon City, from July 19 to 20 was Quezon City Mayor Herbert Bautista. Executive Vice President is Talisay City Mayor Eric Saratan while   Cagayan de Oro City Mayor Oscar Moreno was elected as chairman, Balanga City Mayor Jose Enrique Garcia III as vice chairman and Marikina City Mayor Del de Guzman as secretary general.

Vice President for Luzon is Urdaneta City Mayor Amadeo Gregorio Perez IV, vice president for NCR- Muntinlupa City Mayor Jaime Fresnedi, vice president for Visayas- Mandaue City Mayor Jonas Cortes, vice president for Mindanao- Dipolog City Mayor Evelyn Uy, auditor is Biñan City Mayor Marlyn Alonte-Naguiat and PRO- Dagupan City Mayor Belen Fernandez.

La Carlota City Mayor Juliet Marie Ferrer is deputy public relations officer for Visayas, Himamaylan City Mayor Agusto Ernesto Bascon is regional representative for Region 6 and Cadiz City mayor Patrick Escalante is focal mayor for health.

The League of City Mayors of the Philippines was created on July 25, 1987 through Executive Order 262 issued by then President Corazon Aquino with  then Quezon City Mayor Brigido R. Simon Jr. as the founding president.

It is the belief of the LCP that effective change in the national consciousness starts with the primary visions of the local government units. — Sheila Covarrubias