Beng, 5 others nominated for RDC chairman, co-chair PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 30 August 2013 11:39

The Regional Development Council (RDC) has submitted to President Aquino six names to include Mayor Beng Climaco for consideration in the appointment of the council’s chairman and co-chairman.

Mayor Climaco represents the local government sector along with Mayor Evelyn Uy of Dipolog City while the nominees from the private sector are Jose Suan of the Philippine Integrated Industries Labor Union, Atty. Paul Gudmalin of Dipolog Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Pedro Rufo Soliven of Zamboanga Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Fr. Enrico Montano of Zamboanga del Norte Center for Social Concerns and Development.

The names of the nominees were finalized during the RDC reorganizational meeting held in Pulacan, Zamboanga del Sur August 28. The list will be sent to the president who will appoint the chair and co-chair of the RDC.

The RDC, under Executive Order 325, series of 1996, is the primary institution which shall set the direction of economic and social development of the region and which regional efforts shall be coordinated.

The RDC, which is created in all regions in the country, is designed to be an effective institution in the region responsible for ensuring sustainable, participatory and equitable development.

During the meeting, the new private sector representatives, Pocholo Rufo Soliven of the Zamboanga Chamber of Commerce and Industry and Engr. Geo Ledesma of the Industrial Group of Zamboanga were formally presented to the RDC-9.

The RDC regular members are all provincial governors, all city mayors, mayors of municipalities designated as provincial capitals, all presidents of the provincial league of mayors, all mayors of the municipality designated as the regional center, the regional directors of agencies represented in the National Economic and Development Board (NEDA, DAR, DA, DBM, DENR, DOF, DFA, DOH, DILG, DOLE, DPWH, DOST, DTI, DOTC, BSP) and the regional directors of the DEPED, DSWD, DOT provided that each agency shall be represented by only one regional director and private sector representatives (PSRs) who comprise one-fourth of the members of the fully-constituted council.

The RDC is jointly headed by a chairman and co-chairman who are appointed by the president. The NEDA Regional Director is the ex-officio vice chairman while the NEDA assistant regional director is the secretary of the RDC.

The meeting in Pulacan discussed among others, the factors that contribute to economic vibrancy of the region, a briefing on the region’s peace and security situation including the proposed hosting of Zamboanga City of the Zambopen-Basulta Peace and Security Summit sometime in September. — Sheila Covarrubias