Teddy Kahil gets 2013 Mabini Award for PWD PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 03 September 2013 10:34

An active yet visually impaired employee of the city government through the City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) was conferred the prestigious 2013 Apolinario Mabini Awards-Person with Disability (PWD) of the Year in fitting rites at Malacanang with no less than President Noy Aquino leading the event.

Teddy Kahil of the CSWDO was awarded the Bayaning Pilipino award for PWD in recognition of his valuable services rendered for the good and welfare of the Persons With Disability (PWD) sector in this part of the country.

In presenting the award to Mayor Beng Climaco during the flag raising ceremony yesterday, Kahil thanked the lady chief executive, the city government and the CSWDO personnel headed by Officer-in-Charge Evelyn Las Marias for the support given to him and the sector that made him a national awardee.

The PWD of the year award is given to a Filipino with Disability who has outstanding individual achievement in his chosen field and serves as exemplar to other persons with disability and to the nation.

“I know it’s going to be a tough challenge and I thank the CSWDO workforce,” Kahil said. “A national award is easy to win for as long as the services we give come from our hearts,” he added.

At the same time, Kahil through the CSWDO distributed to visually-impaired students 10 netbook computers and laptops, courtesy of the National Council for Disability Affairs of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD).

The donation came after Kahil himself submitted sometime in June, case studies to the NCDA and all of which were approved.

“These netbooks and laptops will help the visually-impaired students in coping with the academic processes in school just as I had experienced it when I was studying,” Kahil said.

The recipients came from different schools in Baliwasan, Ayala and Western Mindanao State University (WMSU). They were Allen John Pallentas, Elvie Partosa, Allen Malujod, Porferio Esteban, Acob Salib, Eula Villafurte, Ma. Ivy Madelles, Abdulasis Tapide and Maycener Deporta.— Vic Larato