Youth leaders join fight vs. poverty PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 04 September 2013 14:38

The city’s youth have now enlisted to join in the fight against poverty.
Young student-leaders from nine schools and universities in the city convened last Aug. 29-31 in a youth camp dubbed the Youth Movement Against Poverty (YMAP): 1st City-Wide Congress at Cecille’s Pension House in barangay Tumaga this city.
The three-day activity, which was spearheaded by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), was designed to organize its youth advocacy arm to combat poverty.
DSWD regional director Zenaida Arevalo had emphasized that the agency cannot fight poverty alone. In addition to implementing convergence projects with the different agencies, DSWD still needs to solicit the support of more advocates from all sectors of society, including especially the youth.
Meanwhile, Narrabelle Bue, regional information officer, said the YMAP aims to open the eyes of the participants to the realities of poverty that millions of families in the country have been facing for so long. “We need the youth to be involved, in whatever way they can,” Ms. Bue said. She added that the youth can be very effective advocates, particularly in promoting social responsibility among their peers, clubs, organizations and various youth groups.
The activity consists of personal reflections, workshops on leadership and advocacy, and orientation on the DSWD’s Tatsulo Convergence Program (composed of the Pantawid Pamilya, Kalahi-CIDSS and the Sustainable Livelihood Program).
Jayson Lim Elias, information officer of Pantawid Pamilya, said that camp has stimulated awareness and empathy among the participants on the sad reality that “many Filipinos are really struggling to survive, to send their children to school, to eat every day.”
During the camp, the youth leaders elected a set of officers for their organization which they call “Fuerza.” The following are its officers for 2013-2014: President - Mark Anthony Cabilo, Internal Vice President - Floathy Amiruddin, External Vice President - Matt Dave Lachica, Secretary - Tarhata Sappari, Treasurer - Joben Policarpa-Rojas, Auditor - Yves Xaviery Valero, PIO - Al-Rasid Lim. The following are the focal persons for each school: AMA Computer College - Gloeven Mascardo, Ateneo De Zamboanga University– Melana Ocampo, Zamboanga State College of Marine Science and Technology – Cherubim Lozada, Zamboanga City High School – Jusper Lahaman, Southern City Colleges– Rash Misa, Zamboanga City State Polytechnic College – Robert Aroman, Brent College – Aldimver Sydil, Western Mindanao State University – Al-Rashid Hasaan, Immaculate Concepcion Archdiocesan School – Angelo de Castro.
Meanwhile, Lei Madeline Mohammad, information and communications focal person for the DSWD-National Household Targeting Office said that the YMAP’s next step is to finalize advocacy activities which are to be implemented within the year.