City breaks ground 1st resettlement site PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 07 October 2013 10:53

Mayor Beng Climaco led local and national officials on the groundbreaking ceremony of the Taluksangay Resettlement Site Saturday, October 5.

After laying the time capsule marking the resettlement area, the Mayor asked the community for their support to welcome the families who will be making Taluksangay their new home.

“Christiano, Musllim o Lumad, Zamboangueño todo,” said Climaco.

The Taluksangay Resettlement will be one of the sites to be developed by the local government for the thousands of displaced families rendered homeless by the three-week crisis.

The 1.4 hectare site, donated by Taluksangay Chairman Abdurahman Nu?o, will accommodate 220 families for temporary shelters in 22 bunkhouses to be established by the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) and the Habitat for Humanity.

The beneficiaries of the temporary shelters will be the families currently housed in the Taluksangay National High School to allow the secondary school to open for classes in the coming weeks.

Aside from the temporary shelters, the resettlement area can also accommodate 274 houses on stilts.

The building of temporary and permanent shelters is part of the rehabilitation plan initiated by the local government in partnership with the DSWD and the Habitat for Humanity.

Under this partnership, Habitat for Humanity will build temporary shelters and shoulder the administrative costs for its upkeep. Each bunkhouse will cost P100,000, to be taken from the P3.8 billion budget earmarked by the national government for rehabilitation.

Chairman Nuño welcomed the future members of the community with open arms, regardless of tribe, beliefs or religion. “We will always welcome those who seek shelter in our community,” he said.

Gracing the ceremonies were DSWD Secretary Dinky Soliman, District II Representative Lilia Nuño, Fr. Al Javier and the technical team of Habitat for Humanity, and DILG City Director Moh. Taha Arakama.

Also present were City Councilors Mel Sadain, Elong Natividad and Mike Alavar, as well as City Planning Officer Rodrigo Sicat and City Engineer Luis Despalo. — Jasmine Mohammadsali