President honors soldiers for service during Zambo siege PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, 05 November 2013 13:51

President Benigno Aquino III yesterday personally awarded 18 out of the more than 2,400 soldiers who fought during the Zamboanga crisis last September.

During a ceremony at Camp Aguinaldo on Monday morning, Aquino led the conferment of awards to 12 officers and six enlisted personnel who served during the siege in Zamboanga City that lasted for 18 days.

Defense Sec. Voltaire Gazmin and AFP Chief of Staff Gen. Emmanuel Bautista assisted Aquino during the awarding.

Among them are:

Col. Teodoro Llamas (Distinguished Conduct Star)

Lt. Col. Oriel Pangcog (Distinguished Conduct Star)

Capt. Reynir Nirza (Distinguished Conduct Star)

Lt. Gen. Rey Ardo (Distinguished Service Star)

Brig. Gen. Rodelik Santos (Distinguished Service Star)

Lt. Col. Ramon Zagala (Distinguished Service Star)

1st Lt. Francis Damian (Gold Cross Medal - posthumous)

1st Lt. Jerson Jurilla (Gold Cross Medal)

1st Lt. Ian Dexter Carin (Gold Cross Medal)

Lt. Jg. Grade Joey Cayao (Gold Cross Medal)

Sgt. Larry Lopez (Gold Cross Medal)

F1Mr. Abelardo Angelo (Gold Cross Medal)

Sgt. Salvador Codon Jr.  (Gold Cross Medal)

Sgt. Allan Adap (Gold Cross Medal)

Capt. Eduardo Saquing Sr.  (Gold Cross Medal - posthumous)

Maj. Caezar Almer Candelaria (Bronze Cross Medal)

Maj. Rene Aureo (Military Merit Medal)

Pfc. Edgardo Jose (Wounded Personnel Medal)

In a statement, the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) said the 2,473 soldiers who participated in the Zamboanga crisis either in administrative or combat capacity are all set to receive an award “commensurate to their bravery in combat and valuable service rendered in operations.”