Villaflores is new brgy chief of Sta. Catalina PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 27 November 2013 11:56

4 other mediamen win in Monday’s brgy poll

Jimmy Villaflores, correspondent of Daily Zamboanga Times, is now the new barangay chairman of Sta. Catalina, one of the six barangays devastated in the three-week armed conflict brought about by the MNLF attack on Sept. 9, 2013.

Villaflores beat incumbent chairman Belman Malandi in what was described as landslide victory in last Monday’s special barangay election in Zamboanga City.

Villaflores earned the sympathy and respect of Sta. Catalina residents for his very active role during the three-week crisis, braving bullets and ignoring risky situations when he helped evacuate children and women and came face to face with MNLF rebels to convince them to release some of the hostages. His family residence was riddled with bullets during the armed confrontation between MNLF rebels and government forces.

Villaflores was on his last term as kagawad when he decided to run for barangay chairman.

Another DZT correspondent, Jemuel E. Mojica, won as barangay councilman (kagawad) in Divisoria. He landed in the No. 3 spot.

Villaflores and Mojica were among 11 local media personalities who joined the race for barangay chairmen and kagawad in Monday’s special barangay election.

Popular broadcast journalist Teodyver Angeles Arquiza of RMN-DXRZ Zamboanga beat his opponent in the race for barangay chairman in Talon-Talon.

Like Villaflores, Arquiza risked his live during the MNLF attack by facing MNLF rebels to convince them to release several hostages.

Villaflores and Arquiza did not leave their barangays and constituents until the city government implemented the “force evacuation.”

Frederick Atilano of RMN-DXRZ Zamboanga was re-elected incumbent barangay chairman of Lumayang.

Zamboanga Today cartoonist and radio announcer of DXVP Arsenio “Rawhide” Nuevo landed in the No..3 slot in the kagawad race in Lumayang.

Jerry “Macarena” Felix of Wild 91.5 FM grabbed the No. 4 slot in the Lunzuran kagawad race. – Dan Toribio Jr.