22 city gov’t workers get service awards PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 07 December 2013 11:14

Twenty-two City Government employees who have served the local government unit the last 25 years were feted in fitting rites dubbed Service Awards at the Centro Latino in Paseo del Mar yesterday afternoon.

Mayor Beng Climaco led City Government officials in giving due recognition to the workers as she thanked them for their dedication and commitment to government service.

Likewise, she called on other government workers to continue to support her administration’s plans and programs particularly in the   thrust to Build Back Better Zamboanga following the 23-day crisis last September.

The 22 workers were conferred with a 14-karat gold ring and tribute book each as a token for their commitment, hardwork and dedication that exemplify the core values of Civil Service.

The service award is a special ceremony launched in 2008 to recognize the efforts of City Government workers.     During its ceremonial launching last September 5, 2008 the event was called “An affair to remember: a tribute to retirees and service awardees” and coincided with the observance of the Civil Service month.

Since its launching, a total of 492 employees have been conferred with the Service Award.

Feted during the ceremony Friday afternoon were Orlando Abarabar from the City Health Office, Marieta Alvarez (City Social Welfare and Development Office), Esmeraldo Andico Jr. (Office of City Environment and Natural Resources), Dr. Elmeir Apolinario (City Administrator’s Office), Domingo Biliran Jr. (CHO), Mario Bucoy (City Treasurer’s Office), Jose Lindon Cadelinia (General Service Office), Rolando Cristobal (City Agriculturist Office), Edwin de la Cruz (City Human Resource Office), Luis Allan Ebojo (City Assessor), Capistrano Espinosa (City Treasurer’s Office), Argen Fernando (City Veterinarian Office), Norberto Julian (City Admin Office), Josephine Mangila (CHO), Pilar Muta (CHO), Luis Narag Jr. (OCENR), Virgilio Piniones (CTO), Rogelio Ramos (CHO) who recently passed away, Donald Recinto (City Engineer’s Office), Plaridel Ricaforte (CTO), Jocelyn Saavedra (CHO) and Flordeliza Yusop (City Mayor’s Office).

An employee is qualified to receive the Service Award if he served the City Government for25 consecutive years. — Sheila Covarrubias