CPOC seeks swift transfer of MNLF detainees to Taguig PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 13 December 2013 11:06

To minimize security risks, the City Peace and Order Council yesterday formally sought the assistance of Local Government Secretary Mar Roxas to facilitate the early and swift transfer of the 278 Moro National Liberation Front (MNLF) members from the San Ramon Penal Farm to the detention facility in Bicutan, Taguig.

The transfer, directed by the Supreme Court, is awaiting implementation as all documents and preparations have already been complied with.

Mayor Beng Climaco, who chairs the CPOC, said the presence of the MNLF detainees at the penal farm continues to pose security risks to residents of Zamboanga who remain traumatized by the 23-day conflict last September.

A resolution, authored by Zamboanga Chamber of Commerce and Industry Foundation, Inc. Rufo Soliven reinforces the mayor’s letter to President Aquino submitted right after the Supreme Court issued the ruling about the request for transfer of the detainees.

Climaco said the delay in the transfer which is through the use of a military plane is caused by the continuous relief operations in Luzon and Visayas following typhoon Yolanda.

City Prosecutor Ricardo Cabaron echoed Mayor Climaco’s statement that the ongoing relief efforts for the Yolanda calamity impede the transfer of the detainees. He stressed that the Justice Department has already complied with all requirements and what is being awaited is the actual implementation of the transfer.

He explained that the Court has transferred the venue of the trial, so whoever are charged and detained as a result of the charges, will have to be included in the transfer to the Taguig.

The City Prosecutor’s Office in coordination with the Regional Prosecutor’s Office has filed 278 cases against the MNLF involved in the September armed conflict. Primarily charged with rebellion/insurrection and violations of the international humanitarian law in connection with the three-week long standoff in the city which started on September 9 is Nur Misuari, Habier Malik, Bas Arki, Assamin Hussin, and several other commanders. — Sheila Covarrubias