Perez beats Nuño in ABC president race PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 19 December 2013 13:07

The Liga ng Mga Barangay (Association of Barangay Councils) has a new president.

Putik’s second termer Barangay Chairman Jerry Evangelista Perez, yesterday defeated the longest-serving Liga president Abdurahman Nuño in a quite agonizing and exhaustive election that lasted for more than five hours at a local hotel.

Through a vote of 50, as against Nuño’s 45, Perez is set to lead ABC, which oversees the city’s 98 barangays and an organization obviously institutionalized by his immediate predecessor for 24 uninterrupted years, since the latter’s assumption in 1989.

The voting started around 8 in the morning with only 95 of the 98 barrio chieftains registered and voted.

Sta Catalina’s newly-elected Barangay Chairman Jimmy Villaflores and Patalon’s re-elected Barangay Chairman Gaudencio Rojas were respectively barred from casting their votes, since they came in late, while Tolosa Barangay Chairman Aurelio Galcing has reportedly been hospitalized on the eve of election.

Perez, along with other elected ABC officials, was proclaimed winners shortly after lunch,by Interior and Local Government City Director Mohammad Arakama.He was assisted by District 2 Election Officer Joseph Trillo and Department of Education District Supervisor Omar Sahi.

Prior to Perez’ proclamation, Nuño demonstrated an act of statesmanship by conceding to his rival.

“I lost fair and square and I concede,” said Nuño, who also wished Perez and other newly-elected Liga officials well.

The Taluksangay barangay chairman was accompanied all throughout by his wife, District 2 Congresswoman Lilia Nuño, supporters and relatives.

When interviewed, Perez vowed to prioritize among other things, the city’s peace and order situation, during his three-year stint as ABC chief.

Meanwhile, Director Arakama said Perez could not immediately sit as ABC’s sectoral representative at the City Council as process has to be followed prior to the latter’s formal assumption.

“A certificate of proclamation has to be submitted first to the DILG main office, and in reply to such certification, the DILG main office would have to issue its confirmation within 15 upon receipt thereof. Therefore, Perez can only formally assume as a city councilor, once such confirmation shall have been issued by the DILG main office”, Arakama explained.

Other newly-elected Liga officials who were sworn in by Mayor Beng Climaco along with Perez, are Rey Modillas as Vice President, and Joselito Macrohon as Auditor.

The elected Board Directors are Ronald Maravilla, John Dalipe, Rogelio Miranda, Jose Alavar, Raphael Basilio Apolinario, Angelina Inot, Atang Mohammadnur and Rozdy Mukaram. — Philip Abuy