‘Task Force Kapatid’ helps restore power in towns of Leyte PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 26 December 2013 13:29

The Task Force Kapatid- Zamboanga del Sur Electric Cooperative-I (TFK-ZAMSURECO-I) as well as the other 517 electric cooperatives from Mindanao successfully fulfilled its mission in restoring electricity in nine typhoon-ravaged municipalities of Leyte.

TFK-ZAMSURECO-I team leader Jigger Lauganas in an interview said the team, which was dispatched by ZAMSURECO-I Manager Jose Raul Saniel on Nov. 12, 2013, had fulfilled its mission in restoring the electricity in Leyte province on Dec. 19.

TFK is a project of National Electrification Administration (NEA) established in 20 comprising volunteers from the different electric cooperatives (ECs) from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao to render free services to other ECs which need technical help in times of calamities for immediate power restoration and construction of additional lines in remote barangays.

Lauganas said the TFK-ZAMSURECO-I composed of 21 linemen equipped with service and complete linemen’s gears and foodstuffs helped restore power of Leyte’s eight municipalities, namely, Alang-Alang, Barugo, Carigara, Capoocan, Jaro , San Miguel, Pastrana  and Sta. Fe as well as the Leyte Metropolitan Water District, the source of potable water in Tacloban City and Leyte

Lauganas said the team was very happy to have contributed their skills by bringing back electricity in the hardly-hit areas of supertyphoon “Yolanda” in Leyte.

“We are very happy that with our more than a month stay in Leyte, we were able to help other TFK electric cooperatives in Visayas restoring the electricity in eight municipalities which were badly hit by the supertyphoon ‘Yolanda” on Nov. 8.

“It’s so fulfilling to help and make the affected families of super typhoon Yolanda smile. Despite adversities, we gave them hope by extending our helping hands,” Lauganas said.

Lauganas said, after the full restoration of power on Thursday, a simple Christmas party followed at the NFA command center in Palo, Leyte.

The party was graced by Energy Secretary Carlos Jericho Petilla, NEA Administrator Editha Bueno, and Deputy Administraror Edgardo Piamonte. — FPG/GCC/PIA-Zamboanga del Sur)