Hataman’s office to subsidize ‘IRA-less’ towns in ARMM PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 09 January 2014 17:30

The effort of the Regional Legislative Assembly (RLA) to secure monthly Internal Revenue Allotment for each of the 12 towns in the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao that have not been receiving IRA has started bearing fruits.

The executive department of the ARMM is ready to provide P500,000 monthly support to the 12 “IRA-less” towns that do not get the fund from the national government.

The ARMM has more than a hundred towns scattered in Maguindanao and Lanao del Sur,  and in the island provinces of Basilan, Sulu and Tawi-Tawi.

Most of the 12 towns are located in the province of Maguindanao, created from between 2007 to 2009 by the ARMM’s 24-seat RLA, which is touted as the “Little Congress” of the autonomous region.

The 12 towns have been subsisting mainly on “cash assistance” from the Department of Budget and Management.

Hataman said he will organize a forum first with local officials from the 12 towns to discuss with them the facilitation of the P500,000 monthly subsidy.

“I will have to make them promise that they will do everything to prevent absenteeism in their ranks. I’m not saying they are absentee officials. I just want to make sure that they will continue to strive hard for their local government units to function at all times,” he said.

A member of the RLA, Maguindanao Assemblyman Khadafeh Mangudadatu, said he was elated with Hataman’s gesture.

“That’s a big help for these 12 towns that are existing, operating without any IRA,” Mangudadatu said.

Mangudadatu was a proponent of an RLA resolution that called on the national government to grant the towns with monthly IRA.

The resolution, which the ARMM law-making body approved last month, also underscored the need for IRA for each of the 12 towns to enable LGUs to deliver services to the local communities without delays.

Seven of the 12 towns — Northern Kabuntalan, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Saidona Mustapha, Datu Hofer, Salibo, Mangudadatu, and Pandag —are located in Maguindanao.

Mangudadatu said he and other members of the RLA are optimistic the national government will focus attention on their resolution asking for IRA for the 12 towns.