6 NPA rebs surrender PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 January 2014 13:45

The Eastern Mindanao Command said yesterday that six New People’s Army (NPA) members voluntarily surrendered to peace and development teams of the 27th Infantry Battalion in Barangay Tasiman, Lake Sebu, South Cotabato Friday afternoon.

Capt. Alberto Caber, the command’s spokesperson, identified the surrenderees as Rudy Sawang, team leader of the NPA’s farmer sector; Anita Dalugan, vice team leader of the rebel’s women sector; and members John Tomo, Lemuel Nalon, Luna Kaong and Dina Daludo.

Caber said they are all residents of Barangay Tasiman.

He added that the surrenderees are responsible in organizing farmers, women and youth sectors in carrying out their recruitment and expansion activities in the barangay.

The rebels were all brought to the 27th Infantry Battalion headquarters for questioning.

Eastern Mindanao Command head Lt. Gen. Ricardo Rainier G Cruz III said the snowball of NPA surrenderers in the area is the result of strong “Bayanihan” operations there.

He also lauded the people in the community for strongly supporting the military and police in the ongoing peace and development operations in the area.