Beng thanks stakeholders’ active participation in ARMM poll hearing PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 14 March 2011 15:41

House Deputy Speaker Beng Climaco has expressed appreciation to the different stakeholders who actively participated in the public hearing on the proposed synchronization of the 2011 ARMM elections with the 2013 national elections held at the Don Pablo Lorenzo Memorial High School gym Sunday.

She however urged those concerned to continue with the dialogues and consultations so that the issue can be extensively ventilated. 

Zamboanga City was made as the venue for the public hearing jointly undertaken by the House Committee on Suffrage and Electoral Reforms and the Committee on Muslim Affairs because of its accessibility. The hearing, held from 9:30am-5pm, was attended by Secretaries Laila de Lima of the Department of Justice, Jesse Robredo of Department of Interior and Local Government, Luwalhati Antonino of the Mindanao Development Authority and Assistant Secretary Halabason of the Office of Presidential Assistant on the Peace Process (OPAPP), Mayor Celso Lobregat and other guests.

Climaco, who is an ex-officio member of both committees expressed elation that Zamboanga City as the host venue of the hearing will be instrumental in the finalization of House Bill 4146.

The conduct of the public hearing is concrete proof that the present administration exercises democracy in the truest sense.

House Bill 4146, supported by the majority in the House of Representatives, seeks the synchronization of the ARMM polls to the May 2013 national elections as well as seeks to give President Noynoy Aquino the power to appoint officers-in-charge in the ARMM until new officials are elected in 2013.

Climaco said the proposal to postpone the ARMM elections is one of the urgent matters in the House of Representatives alongside with the Ombudsman impeachment case and the Reproductive Health bill that should be tackled before the House goes on recess on March 24.

Members of the House of Representatives present during the hearing were Representatives Arnulfo Go, Angel Amante-Matba, Bai Sema, Andres Salvacion, Elpidio Barzaga (chair, committee on suffrage), Tupay Loong (chair, Committee on Muslim Affairs), Climaco, Rufus Rodriguez,  Ralen Sakaluran, Jim Hataman, Ahmad Tomawis and Lady Ann Sahidulla.

ARMM governors present were Jum Akbar of Basilan, Abdusakur Tan of Sulu and Sadikul Sahali of Tawi-tawi.

The public hearing yesterday was part of a series of public hearings done in various cities in Mindanao to discuss the proposed deferment of the ARMM Elections slated on August this year. — Rham Joseph Cabasag