ARMM provides P6 million aid to towns with no revenue allotment PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 14 February 2014 12:56

The Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) government will be providing P500, 000 monthly financial aid this year to each of the12 municipalities that do not have internal revenue allotment (IRA) in the region.

The 12 include the towns of Shariff Saydona Mustapha, Datu Hoffer, Datu Salibo, Datu Anggal Midtimbang, Datu Blah Sinsuat, Mangudadatu, Pandag, and Northern Kabuntalan in the province of Maguindanao and the towns of Akbar, Al-Barka, Hadji Muhtamad, and Hadji Mohammad Ajul in the province of Basilan.

Laisa Alamia, ARMM executive secretary, said the financial aid is intended to help these local government units (LGUs) improve their performance and fast-track government programs and projects in the region.

“Kailangan na magtrabaho sila. LGU should be working, pumapasok sa opisina. Hindi po ito pang-sweldo. Kailangan meron silang proyekto at imo-monitor natin at i-evaluate,” she said.

A total of P72 million has been included by the present ARMM administration in its budget for this year to support these towns.

All 12 towns have been established by virtue of regional legislations but failed to meet the criteria set for municipalities under Republic Act No. 7160 or the Local Government Code of 1991.

The discrepancy has disqualified these regionally -created towns from receiving IRA.

On Wednesday, the second day of the ARMM LGU Summit on Governance and Development in Davao City, ARMM Gov. Mujiv Hataman led the distribution of P500,000 checks to the mayor of each town. — Bureau of Public Information