20 people injured in another bus mishap PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 16 February 2014 17:02

Twenty people, mostly teachers from Basilan, were injured when the bus they were riding fell into the roadside in in Barangay Monching, Siay, Zamboanga Sibugay yesterday.
Police said the bus was on its way to Zamboanga City from Marawi City, where the Palarong Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Athletic Association (ARMMAA) was held when the accident happened.
It was the second accident involving Palaro delegates. Last Monday, February 10, a van heading for the ARMMAA also figured in an accident that killed one teacher and injured 14 other teachers and students – all delegates from the province of Sulu.
Police said that in the case of Saturday’s accident, the driver of bus owned by the Rural Transit Mindanao was negotiating the highway of Barangat Monching when he turned the steering wheel to avoid a head-on collision with another vehicle.
Bus driver Charlito Pepito Buot lost control causing the bus to fall on the side of the road.
The injured passengers were brought to the Pathfinder Hospital in the town of Kabasalan.
The first accident  involved a van carrying an athletic delegation from Sulu which fell into a 10-foot cliff, killing one and injuring 13 in Buug, Zamboanga Sibugay.
The victims –  seven pupils and six school officials – were on board a Suzuki APV van with plate number JDD953 driven by Abdulajid Lukman, 41, with his assistant driver on their way to Marawi City for the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao Athletics Association (ARMMAA) when the vehicle rolled down the cliff at Barangay Bulaan, Buug around 10 a.m.
The victims were delegates from Pangutaran School district of Sulu, police said.
SPO1 Dave Ebarle, case investigator, disclosed that the van, which was part of a convoy of other vehicles,  was negotiating a curb along the highway when the driver lost control of the steering wheel causing the vehicle to plunge into the cliff.
Killed in the accident was Lukman, the driver of the van.
Atty. Jamar Kulayan, ARMM Department of Education (DepEd) regional director, identified the injured school officials as Andan Tammang, technical official; Sitti Ramsani Mahmud, teacher; Nur aina Ramsani, school nurse, Hadji Ayub Ramsani, supervisor; and Abdulajid Lukman; while the pupils were Ferdiliza Ainul, Alhaina Banbon, Marhama Sarri, Ummal Nabri, Sitti Rasma Mahmud, Gerry Hamin, and Arjaida Atiulla.
Kulayan said the DepEd ARMM has paid for all the hospital expenses of the victims while advising the delegates to take caution in traveling toward the venue.
A total of 10 school divisions in ARMM participated in the Palaro held at Marawi City’s Mindanao State University,