NorthCot mentors, students top national science contest PDF Print E-mail
Friday, 21 February 2014 13:01

Students and teachers of a public high school in Carmen town in North Cotabasto brought the province honor for winning as champion in the 11th National Science Quest early this week in the Teachers Camp in Baguio City.

A rousing welcome, organized by education officials and parents, greeted the students and faculty members of the Carmen National High School (CNHS) as they arrived from Baguio City bringing with them championship trophies and certificates of merit for the contest categories that they have won.

The contests were held from February 10 to 12, participated in by delegates from different regions across the country.

Elpidio Daquipil, a senior official of the North Cotabato Schools Division, said the CNHS entry had won in both the group and individual categories of the science modeling high school teachers contest.

A composite elementary schools entry from the south district of Mlang municipality emerged as the champion in the science investigatory project teachers’ group category, according to Daquipil.

North Cotabato Gov. Emmylou Taliño, who has various projects complementing the literacy programs in the province of the Department of Education, said she was elated with the feat, which was for her a tacit indication that the local academic community is just as good and competent as those in other areas in the Visayas, Metro Manila and in Luzon.

Mendoza’s office is funding the schooling of 1,171 scholars, who belong to impoverished families residing in different parts of North Cotabato.

Officials of the Association of Science Educators in the Philippines (ASEP) handed out the awards to the North Cotabato teachers  and students during the closing program of the competitions in Baguio City.

Mendoza said credit ought to go to North Cotabato teachers that worked together for their entries to emerge as champions — Genevieve Braganza, Carmina Arendain, Doresa Baguno, Rose Ann Denisado, Maria Christine Yñon, Lady Joy Magsipoc, and Hazel Grace Gorre.Antonia Suzada, Maysara Pandita, Stella Marie Z. Lim, Rogine Cris Nacario, Andy Saliling, Jeffrey Magkanam, Jay-Ar Cadungon, and Rommel Aragon Nacario.