City honors local achievers PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 27 February 2014 14:06

For bringing honor and prestige to Zamboanga City, nine individuals and institutions were feted in a formal ceremony dubbed “Local Achievers’ Awards” in celebration of the 77th Dia de la Ciudad de Zamboanga.

Mayor Beng Climaco led the ceremonies at the Centro Latino in Paseo del Mar Tuesday night (February 25). She expressed gratitude and extolled the awardees for excelling in their different fields of expertise and for helping contribute to the development of Zamboanga.

Leading the list of local achievers for this year is Former Assemblyman Hon. Juan S. Alano who was posthumously bestowed the Orgullo de Zamboanga Premiar, the highest award, for his meritorious contributions to the city. Alano was the author of the Commonwealth bill that eventually became an Act creating Zamboanga as Charter City and which was signed by President Manuel L. Quezon on October 12, 1936.

Former Vice Mayor Efren Arañez was conferred the Public Service Award for his dedication and exemplary service to the people of Zamboanga not only as former public official but as head of the longest running orphanage— the Reception and Study Center for Children (RSCC) in Talon-talon.

Julia Teresita “Titang” Jaldon garnered the Culture and Arts Award for promoting and preserving Zamboanga’s culture through her songs, mostly chabacano.

Johnny Morte, a winner in the got the Sports Award while the Universal Canning Inc. of Ms. Anita Kaw was bestowed the Investment Promotions Award. The Kabalikat Civicom Chapter 183 Zamboanga Central bagged the Community Service Award.

Country Chicken owned by Ricardo Manzano was conferred the Tourism-Oriented Establishment.

Engr. Al-Hassan Hasiman of the Al-Raf Construction firm was awarded the Top Individual Taxpayer award while the Coca-cola Bottlers Phil. Inc. was give the Top Corporate Taxpayer award.

Meanwhile 6 individuals who received national citations were bestowed the Mayor’s award. They included Teddy Kahil, recipient of the Outstanding PWD-Apolinario Mabini 2013 Awards conferred by President Aquino; SPO1 Eduardo de Guzman Covarrubias and PSInsp. Arlan Dalumpines who were 2013  Country’s Oustanding Police Officers in Service (COPS) conferred by the Metrobank Foundation, Inc.; Mark Conrad Ravanzo who was named as Outstanding Volunteer (Youth Category) by the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA) and Adriel Earl Toribio and Debra Ann Ponce-named “Mga Bagong Rizal Pasg-asa ng Bayan” by the  Philippine Center for Gifted Education.

The performance of the Ateneo de Zamboanga University (ADZU) Concert Band under the baton of Maestro Apolonio Enriquez during the event made the Awards’  Night even more meaningful.

Also present during the program were Vice Mayor Cesar Iturralde and Councilors Myra Paz Abubakar, VP Elago, Kim Elago and BG Guingona and City Administrator Antonio Orendain Jr. who stood as presenters of the awards.

The Local Achievers’ Award is one of the pre-Dia de Zamboanga activities which culminated yesteday with a grand parade, commemorative program and peace concert keynoted by Spanish Embassy Deputy Head of Mission Ignacio Perez Cambra.  — Sheila Covarrubias